First Build - Thoughts?

Hello! I'm a rank beginner at this, been reading a lot and am hoping to give building a system a try. If I fail, I figure I've wasted $700 on stupider things. :D

This will primarily be a home computer. I do some light gaming, but mainly stuff like Medal of Honor, Call of Duty, etc. Otherwise it may do some occasional home video and photo editing. Most days, it will live a pretty easy life of surfing the net and running office applications. No need for a high power gaming rig here.

I like AMD chips, just for the performance to value. I think I want to stick with an x4 processor, just to keep things set up to take advantage of software that runs on 4 cores at some point in the future. I don't want to build something that will last 2-3 yrs, I'd like to get a decent run out of this machine.

I started looking at Athelons, but ended up finding some decent prices on the Phenom II processors so I went that way for right or wrong. Total cost is $714.

Any thoughts? Did I get to wild and crazy with the CPU/GPU given my use?

Antec Sonata $120
Phenom II X4 955 BE $150
Asus M4A89GTD 890GX $150
Corsair XMS3 4 GB $83
XFX Radeon HD 5770 $140
WD Black Caviar 500GB $55
Samsung TS-H663B DVD $16
2 answers Last reply
More about first build thoughts
  1. your overall system is fine.

I can see a number of places to trim some money, mostly in a less expensive case and motherboard, less expensive, but still good RAM.

The money saved by getting, say, AS Rock 870 Extreme 3 ($95 vs $150), G.Skill DDR3-1333 ($48 vs $83), saves $90 right there. Spend $50 for the 1075t at $200, and you have $40 left. Spend another $50 and you can get a HD6850, for $725 total cost.

The 870 has 8x/8x crossfire, meaning you could add a second 6850 down the road.

You could trim some down on the case/psu with the well-reviewed Xigmatek 502 500W 80+ Bronze PSU at $45, and a Rosewill challenger or destroyer case for $50, saving another $15 (which helps cover the costs of the 6850)