Onwards and Upwards(?) Looking to Upgrade

capitalistpigskin

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2010
Hello,

Thank you in advance for reading my post, and for any insight you might provide. I understand and truly appreciate the value of your time.

I'm a graphic designer, and I currently use this system (specs below) for both work and play. It was gifted to me by a generous client, and its reliability has been nearly unparalleled. I am interested in investing $200-350 before January 1st to upgrade the system to meet the higher demands of newer games, but reliability is key. I have multiple sclerosis, and I simply cannot afford signifcant downtime from an accidental catastrophic screwup. I would like to take advantage of any holiday/post-holiday Tiger/Newegg sales, if possible. I will likely be able to invest another $200-300 in late January/early February, barring an insurance premium hosing.

As far as technical proficiency, I spent the late nineties up through 2004 working for the IT department of a small dotcom (we morphed into a call-center of roughly 200 employees). I spent quite a bit of my time there working helpdesk, which primarily consisted of fixing (un-F*^%ing) our e-machine crapboxes. I also built a few rigs for my gaming needs. (Sadly, I actually waited in line to buy my first "real" hardware: a 3dfx Voodoo card for the earliest builds of Counter-Strike around the summer of 2000, I think. Great times.) Although I haven't built a rig from scratch in several years, I believe I am still proficient enough to do so.

As far as work demands, I typically use most of these programs (simultaneously):
• Adobe's CS5 Suite (typically PS and Illustrator)
• Office Pro 2007 (Outlook, Excel, Word)
• Chrome with a dozen extensions and multiple tabs, IE8, FF
• Winrar, Trillian, Notepad, etc.
• Media Player and/or iTunes to watch a show/movie while I work

I should mention that my company has provided me with Win7 Pro 64-bit, which I will install with your proposed upgrades.