Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First HTPC build US $1500 budget

Last response: in Systems
December 9, 2010 12:17:19 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: Within these few days

Budget Range: US $1500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: HTPC, HD/Blueray movies, music, surfing the internet and maybe more. Must be a quiet yet powerful enough to suit my needs.

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, receiver.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Buying from a local computer shop.

Country of Origin: Taiwan

Parts Preferences: Nothing in particular, whatever is suitable for best quality output within my budget.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 / 1080p etc

Additional Comments:

1. This is my first build and the setup list below was recommended from my local HTPC store.
2. To run on 52" Sony Bravia TV, last year's model.
3. Will be making an order for Klipsch surround sound system 5.1 soon too.
4. OS will be Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate 64-bit.

Potential setup:
CPU: Intel i5-650 3.2G
Motherboard: ASUS P7H55-M USB3
Graphics card: ASUS ATI 5670 DDR5-1G HDMI
Sound card: ASUS Xonar HDHDAV1.3/Deluxe TrueBul-ray
Memory: A-data DDR3 -1333 4G x 2
Hard disk: OCZ SSD Vertex2 60G + WD SATAII 2TB
Optical Drive: Asus BD-ROM
Case: SilverStone LC16B-MR OR LM200+Luxa Power (US $100 difference)
PSU: HEC APFC480W Server Class

Is the setup above reliable? or would anyone be kind enough to recommend a better system. Thanks in advance!

More about : htpc build 1500 budget

December 9, 2010 12:28:42 PM

Quote:
System Usage from Most to Least Important: HTPC, HD/Blueray movies, music, surfing the internet and maybe more. Must be a quiet yet powerful enough to suit my needs.

My take is u merely need a HTPC to play your media/movies (no encoding required) and surf the net and could be you vastly over estimated hardware requirements/costs? Toms did HD DVD/Blu Ray in '08 with far humbler h/w hehe