Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Which CPU for fast photo processing?

Last response: in Systems
December 10, 2010 2:54:58 PM

I do a lot of heavy duty photo processing with large image files. No video file processing, no games. I've never built my own system before, but I'm pretty confident I can do it as long as I know all the parts I need.

I've read the "Recommended builds by usage" thread, but I'm not quite sure whether I fall into the "enthusiast" or "workstation" category. In particular, I can't tell the which of the differences between the Intel and the AMD chips apply to me, since a lot of it seems to be about video, and I don't do video or games.

One thing to note, and I don't know if this matters when it comes to performance: the application I use the most for photo editing is Paint Shop Pro X - it was released many years ago, way before 64-bit computing existed. It's been verified as being compatible with Vista, but I don't know if the fact that it's probably a 32-bit app matters when it comes to choosing a CPU. (Please: I don't need advice about upgrading to a newer version, or to Photoshop; I'm very, very happy with this version of the program.)

Date wanted: within the next couple of months
Budget: $1500
No monitor, keyboard, mouse required - I'm happy with what I have
Windows 7 Professional
Minimum of 6GB RAM
Minimum of 500 GB hard drive

Dual-monitor support would be nice, but not required.

December 10, 2010 3:02:22 PM

if its an older program, it's probably single-threaded.
I'd stick with a i5-760, 8 GB RAM, and a GTX 460 in SLI.
m
l
December 10, 2010 3:12:21 PM

I suppose that it'd be wise to look to the future and assume that I *could* end up with Photoshop or some non-single-threaded program in the future. I don't want to limit myself by buying an underpowered CPU just because my current software is also underpowered.
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

December 10, 2010 3:19:36 PM