Is it worth to SLI/Crossfire?

pureamdfanboy

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2010
Hello guys, i have a few questions that i want to ask. I have never used a graphic card before, yet, i love gaming. Recently, i have made up my mind to build a gaming pc. After doing a lot of research myself, i know what components i should buy except for graphic card. I have a 1920x1080 monitor and i do like to max out everything during game play. I am going to build my pc around thanksgiving(want to save some money) Right now, i have two options: Buy a AMD cayman(probably coming in late nov) or buy a pair of MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460(or a pair of AMD bart)

I know SLI and Crossfire is probably going to outperform a single cayman, but is it worth it? I heard people saying SLI/Crossfire tend to run very hot, is it true?( i wasn't able to find any review on the temperature chart of gpu running in SLI/Crossfire. Also, will the life span of the gpu be shortened if i run them in SLI/Crossfire?(I want to keep this gaming pc for 2 years at least) Will SLI/Crossfire have a lot of driver issues? If they do, are the problems easy to fix(I really don't like sitting in front of a computer for 2 hours trying to figure out what go wrong) And for the games that don't support SLI/Crossfire, is it hard for me to set up the profile?

At last, what will be a good FPS for game play?

Thank you for all your input. I greatly appreciate it.

Generally, nVidia's SLI tends to get a better return (it scales better). Though some game titles do like ATI Crossfire. Between the two, if you wanted dual cards, I slightly lean toward nVidia. If you go that route, the GTX 460 1 GB's in SLI will beat a single GTX 480 by as much as 20%.