Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7 950 too hot 75+ C while playing crysis 2 no overclock

Last response: in CPUs
March 7, 2011 11:44:43 PM

Hey I have a decent gaming rig but my cpu seems to be the problem child at the moment. I would like to know what I should do to keep my cpu from overheating.

Specs:

Haf 932 case
Asus Rampage III Formula
i7 950 stock
Cooler Master V10
Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600
Zalman 1000w

I have never overclocked anything before this rig, so im a newbie. I tried messing around and failed so I just leave it alone at stock clock speeds.

Idle temps are around 38 or 39 C and max load is around 78 almost 80, while playing the crysis 2 demo. Other games also get the same way. I think that the cooler master v10 would be enough for the job but it seems that its not doing it right. Just wondering if its the cooler master thermal paste was too thin or perhaps bios settings, or perhaps even a bad cooler.

I hope this is enough information for me to get some answers, thanks in advance.

Best solution

a c 105 à CPUs
March 7, 2011 11:49:34 PM

double check the cooler is installed correctly, the temp is very high. i know people have complained about the v8 & 10 being a pain to install correctly.
March 7, 2011 11:55:58 PM

it's installed correctly, just double checked. all screws snug, and lights and fan are working. when i boot up now and again, in dos mode, it says cpu fan error and beeps, then says press f1 to resume, and when I press f1 it starts up fine. Its been doing this for about a month or so
m
l
Related resources
a c 203 à CPUs
March 8, 2011 12:07:50 AM

Is the CPU fan spinning when you get the failure message ? Is it plugged into the CPU fan header on the MoBo ... or a Molex ?

What's the Vcore voltage ?

Do the voltage optimization thing described here.

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=2008122019104023...

My son's 920 on the Rampage does mid to hi 50's at 3.8 GHz (Vcore = 1.1125) under P95 small FFT's.....low 70's at 4.0 - 4.2