Corsair 700D - Do I REALLY need extra fans in case?

Jack500

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2011
Newbie here putting together my first build.

I have Corsair 700D case and geting mixed messages about cooling in this case. I would like to get people's opinions on whether I need additional fans or not.

Case - Corsair 700D
Motherboard - Intel i7
CPU - Intel i7-950
RAM - 24 gigs
Sound card - Omega Claro Plus
Video cards - 1 or 2 video cards, either GTX590 or 6990 (to run 3 monitors), if I can get away with one video card that would be great
# of Monitors - 3
Hard drives - two, Seagate 2 TB each

This system is to be used primarily for professional work. Nothing crazy like video editing, etc.
This is not a gaming PC, but at some point I would like to play a few top-notch 3-D games.
No overclocking.

Please let me know what you think. Thank you in advance!

Jack500

Solution
I would get a few more for it especially considering two of its three fans are really just for redirecting airflow not for sucking more in or pushing more out, another exhaust or two at the top would be plenty of airflow.

As for the GPU, if you want to run 3 screens you can do that off of a single AMD card but i really would suggest against the 6990, is big, hot, noises, and more expensive than 2 6970s which will actually out perform it. You can run 3 screens off of a 6970 and for professional work a single would likely be enough. What type of work will you be using it for? If your programs support CUDA or Stream that could be a deciding point on which brand you want, but i would stay clear of dual GPU cards from both for a while.
I would get a few more for it especially considering two of its three fans are really just for redirecting airflow not for sucking more in or pushing more out, another exhaust or two at the top would be plenty of airflow.