PSU? GSU? GPU? BFD?

G

Lets say money isnt an issue, what is the best way for me to power my brand new ASUS ARES/2DIS/4GD5 Radeon HD 5870 X2? I have a brand new SILVERSTONE ST1500 and its good for 4x 6+2's & 4x 6's but from what Im reading Im going to need 4 more 6+2's to do the 4 way crossfire shtuff with max voltage (whew). FYI... I have been working on PCs for almost 15 years now but to be honest, Im as multiple video card stupid as it gets :pt1cable:

Any help and/or suggestions are greatly appreciated. (ok comments are ok as well)

You can only run 2 ARES in crossfire since they each have 2 GPUs on board, and with two of them you hit the 4 GPU limit, thats the max that the drivers can support, so while you may be able to fit 4 on a board, software wont allow you do so you actually have plenty of power in your ST1500 for quadfire since you only have to power 2 ARES cards.

G

Great info! I guess Ill have to put the other 2 in a system for my 13 year old. Will two of these in crossfire run as fast as 4 NVidia's in SLI? Should I send em back and get these instead? ZOTAC AMP! ZT-40102-10P GeForce GTX 480 (Fermi)

4 GTX 480s will run a bit faster, but also quite a bit hotter, they each run at about 250W, the ARES each pull about 350W so its a lot more power consumption and heat with 4 GTX 480s, especially if you start OCing them. The two ARES should be able to max out most things.

Really? I know that dual GTX 480s beats dual 5870s in just about everything, even though scaling drops dramatically for the third and fourth i would have expected quad 480s to beat quad 5870s, but if ATI managed to pull out better tri-fire and quadfire scaling i guess the 5870s would take the lead.

Guru 3D did an article way back in may to try and find out but ran into "issues".