I've done my research, help me finish this build!

bigredking

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2010
So I have spent waaaay too many hours reading newegg reviews, threads on Tom's and HardOCP, and trolling the beautiful graphs at benchmark reviews. It is time to pull the trigger on my build, and I was hoping you fine folks could help me put my mind at ease by affirming my choices or voicing some smarter alternatives.
I will be using my new build for gaming (RTS & FPS), compiling (Comp. Eng. student), media consumption, and a lot of reading. I have zero experience with overclocking, but down the road I might want to explore my options. I have a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and OS (Win 7 Pro 64).

So far, the parts I am commited to and have purchased are:
-Intel i7-970 Hexacore
-160GB X-25M Intel SSD.
These parts are purchased and will be part of the build regardless of any other choices I make, so please don't go off on a tangent recommending AMD or sandybridge, etc. :D

Now here comes my problem with second guessing myself.

*Motherboard: I am interested in moving to multiple GPU's at some point (build will start with one due to budget constraints) and USB 3.0 for my external HD. I am most concerned with stability, and have used ASUS boards successfully for many builds. So far, it appears the ASUS P6X58D Premium is my best option, but it comes with a price premium and I am very concerned with the limits I see on the memory compatibility chart. I will start with 6GB but as this system will be around for a few years 12GB is in my future--but all 1600 memory modules with decent CAS don't run as spec'd in 12GB configurations.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131614