Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How do I test the battery life of new laptop?

Last response: in Systems
December 17, 2010 4:53:42 PM

I just bought an HP G62X laptop. This system is supposed to have a 5.5 hour battery life. But, I have read some reviews that are critical of the actual battery life.

I am no expert on the subject, but as I understand it, true laptop battery life is typically about half the advertised rate. To get the advertised battery life, you have to have the system in hibernate, or something.

What is an easy, and fair, way for me to test the battery, and what should I realistically expect? Should I try to test the system with the wi-fi off, and in sleep mode? Should I try it with screen on, wi-fi going, and active use? Should I do both? I don't want to unnecessarily use the battery too much. I don't want to spend too much of my own time either.

I there any free utility that might help me with this?

Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for any advice.

Best solution

a b D Laptop
December 17, 2010 7:42:24 PM

Here is what I would do.
Start wilt battery @ 100 % (should also indicate 5 + hrs left. Stick in a DVD move and play it for an Hr. Note remaining % and Time remaining. From this you can figure battery life at most demanding task. This is better than a software pkg. And YES most manuf claims are for laptop doing very little. Much depends on HDD/DVD read/writes, CPU utilization and GPU utilization. You can also use this method - just compare values after an hr of doing what you normally would do.

If you do not want to sit there, go play tiddly-winks with manhole covers, or better yet with wife/GF.
December 17, 2010 8:07:32 PM

Battery life is usually the best case scenario, on my HP its 10% screen brightness, minimal CPU activity, and Wifi off; basically sitting at the desktop and doing nothing, if im doing something on it like browsing the internet and have the screen brightness up its dramatically shorter.