Query regarding fans.

abhirox

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2011
Hello,
I have a Cooler Master Elite 360 Case and my new Pc is running quite hot. I want to fit one additional fan for the case. I want to know which one(brand) to buy and the size(mm) and also where to fit it to get lower temperatures(rear/top/bottom). Please help!

quite hot? no actual temps?

if you want looks then thermaltake tricool blue, are ok. they have 3 speeds and push reasonably high cfm's
if you don't want it looking like a 70's robot the yate loon in my experience are great.
running at 600-2200rpm are pretty much unmatched performance wise pushing a staggering 85cfm from 120mm...

tip 1: have at least 2 fans in the front bottom if you can and 1 at the back top remembering that you want to create a slightly positive atmosphere so you don't suck in dust at every fold and joint in the case.

tip2: sleeve bearing fans are quieter than ball bearing fans but often wont last as long 30,000 hours for sleeved as opposed to 50,000 for the ball.

walterm

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2010
Fan selection is as complicaed as you want to make it. Considerations are price, value, CFM (airflow, cubic feet per minute), and pressure (usually inches of h2o) which depends on use. Connections vary depending on whether you want power supply (4 pin molex) or three or four pin motherboard type connectors.You can download Speed Fan software to monitor temperature and motherboard connected fans. CPU-Z is also useful.
THE review on the Elite 360 says it comes with a top fan, which may be 120/92/80mm, not clear which. Bottom accepts an 80mm fan, rear two 80mm fans.
Case is narrow and may be orientated horizontally or vertically.
IN GENERAL the more air moved front to back the better.
The Nate Loon are very good quiet fans, available in Low, Medium, and High speed versions. Scythe Gentle Typhoon are similar or the same depending on source, also very good. Scythe Kasi, etc move more air with more noise. Noctua seems "best" if pricey.