Computer Shuts Down Suddenly

kaloman

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2011
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum and would like some help. I recently built a home desktop with the following components:

-ASUS Crosshair Forumula IV board (AMD)
-AMD Phenom 965 Black using stock cooler
-Gigabyte Radeon HD6850
-8GB DDR3 Ram
-Corsair TX750 PSU
-60 GB SSD
-1TB Western Digital Caviar Black HDD
-Blu-ray Player
-DVD RW

The computer, which is running Windows 7 Ultimate, has been working flawlessly until the past week, it turns off suddenly. It appears to turn off when I am on the internet, or running programs, but doesn't if the computer is just running idle. I also notice that the after it shuts down, the motherboard LEDs (Reset, Power-on, Core Unlocker, and Turbo Key II) are still on. If I attempt to press the power button on my NZXT Tempest case, nothing happens. I need to either pull the power cord or flip the rear switch in order to power up the system.

I downloaded SpeedFan to monitor temperatures, which appear to be in the 30 degrees C range. I'm also not sure what the normal 3, 5, and 12 voltages should be? It shows the 12V to be around 6.5V. Seems low.

Anyone have an idea of what's happening? The PSU fan runs fine, there are no unusual noises coming from the PSU, however my gut tells me that the PSU is the culprit.

Thanks,
Kaloman

kaloman

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2011
Okay, I used a multimeter to test all the 3, 5 and 12V pins and they all read within normal operating voltages. So the problem doesn't appear to be from the PSU. What else could cause a sudden shutdown? All fans including the CPU stock fan seem to run fine. Is 38 Degrees C normal for CPU temp? Would the system shutdown on a high CPU temp?

Tonkyboy

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2002