Solution for Photoshop & 3D modeling

jbrighton

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2010
I am planning to build a PC mainly for Photoshop and Maya.

At the moment I have about $800, and another $1600 over the next two months (end of February). Because I create large Photoshop files (often 5k*5k or more with several hundred layers), I need a lot of RAM. 16GB are definitely not exaggerated. I'd probably even go for an X58 board with 24GB if the Intel processors weren't so expensive. I am new to modeling but it looks like I will need a fast processor in order to reduce the rendering times for my 3D scenes as much as possible.

The only other tasks I'll be using the computer for are database development and some internet surfing. I went off computer games as soon as everything started to go 3D and playing a game required more than just a joystick and a fire button.

Currently I only have a 19" widescreen monitor (1440*900) but I would like to buy a 30" monitor (2560*1600) in the next few months (not included in the $2400 budget). As I don't know anything about graphics cards, I was wondering whether I should get one that is sufficient for my current resolution, and add an equivalent one to connect via CrossFire or SLI once I have got a second (higher resolution) monitor?

So far I have already got the case (without power supply), optical drives, SATA drives, keyboard and mouse, and I won't need speakers. I'll probably opt for an SSD as system drive. In terms of budget, I could build a lower spec configuration and then add components whenever I have some more money to spend (after February), e.g. add a second system drive and set up a RAID 0 array.

I live in the UK and in the past I have got the best deals from retailers such as scan.co.uk and CCL Computers.

Which components would be best for my purposes? And is my budget realistic or will I need to spend more?

wasupmike

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2010
the problem with this is the way you're distributing your spending on the machine...