$1100 sandy bridge build can it be done??

exhail

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2010
hi guys as some of you may know I live in South Africa and I have decided to order my PC from america as we are getting ripped off here.

Im ordering from newegg and getting myUS to ship it here as apparently I cant get amazon to do it I posted something about it in a South African forum http://www.systemshock.co.za/forums/index.php/topic/35621-getting-hd-6970/page__gopid__335723#entry335723

parts I dont need: mouse, keyboard, case ( I have a coolermaster storm scout)

parts I need: monitor and everything else :)

I have $1100 to spend just on the PC as I actually have $1467.67 to spend but I have to pay shipping ($242.04 for 25 lbs) and I have to pay South African VAT (14%)

So I have $1100 to spend, Im not worrying about accessories and so on like CPU coolers, ssds and so on I just want a raw good build as I will be slowly upgrading in the future, I dont want two cards straight away I want one good card and il add another down the line

im looking at

i7 2600 (when SB comes out I dont plan on OCing so im not getting a k one)

cheap crossfire/SLI SB motherboard with good features

hd 6950/gtx 570/hd 6970 I WILL BE ADDING A SECOND CARD IN THE FUTURE also bear in mind my case size ( I have a CM storm scout but I will make it work if its just too big)

thanks for all your help

I think it can be done.
I have been olanning a SB build, and while I have no inside knowledge, I have done a lot of research.
Here are some of my thoughts: