Just got robbed, time to build a new computer

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Computer
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
December 22, 2010 9:21:00 PM

Sooooo I came home from work last week to find someone had broken into my apartment and taken almost everything I value (Macbook Pro, HDTV, 360, brand new Red Wii, dozens of games collected over years, digital camera, etc.). I've had some time to recover but now I'm in the very real situation of not having a computer.

I'll be frank, I've been using macs for the past 4 years and am a little out of the PC scene right now. That being said, I'm not an idiot and usually very much enjoy researching these sorts of projects. However, due to circumstances beyond my control, I'm in need of a computer sooner rather than later.

I'll primarily be using this as a media computer (storing and watching videos etc) with some gaming on the side (SC2, New Vegas). I'd like it to hook up via HDMI to a primary monitor as well as my television (which I don't have anymore, but will hopefully have one in the future) and I'd like to hit the 6gig RAM mark if economically feasible, mostly because I see it as an upgrade from my previous MBPro but I'm not sure if it's necessary. Same goes with having a small SSD installed- the idea intrigues me and I see that there are benefits but I'm not sure if it's worth my money.

Obviously, this is a pretty newbie post and I'm very aware of it. Usually I'd spend weeks researching these sorts of things but right now I could just use some straightforward advice on what sort of builds are recommended. My budget is about $1300-1400 including the monitor/keyboard/mouse. So far the Dec 2010 $1000 enthusiast build looks nice but I'm not sure if it meets all my requirements.

More about : robbed time build computer

December 22, 2010 9:36:59 PM

Sorry for your losses, those are substantial.....