Sign in with
Your question

How much to spend on a decent gaming machine?

Last response: in Systems
December 25, 2010 8:48:28 AM

Hi,
I am soon going to be building my first PC (hopefully) but since I am a newbie when it comes to most things hardware related (I'm more of a software guy), I don't really know how much to spend. I am hoping to build a PC that can run new games for a year or two at least (even on low settings if need be). Therefore, my question is if someone could give me a general price range of what this will cost and maybe if someone feels really generous how much to spend for each component (ie $200 for the CPU,ect.). Any help will be much appreciated. Let me know if you need more info or anything. Thanks in advance.
December 25, 2010 8:50:59 AM

Hmm you have to elaborate on what resolution/settings u typically play on or if u have no idea a min/max budget inclusive of LCD to work with Also just 24/7 and games u dun really have to go crazy over priced platform and a decent GPU would serve u well

The Game Rundown: Finding CPU/GPU Bottlenecks, Part 2
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/game-performance-bo...
Quote:
Conclusion: A Trend Toward 3+ Cores

The average optimal number of CPU cores suggested by the test results is 2.75, showing a clear trend towards at least three CPU cores.The question of whether the CPU or GPU is most important is easily answered. If you don't have a multi-core CPU, then upgrade it. If you have a dual-core CPU at around 3 GHz, then invest your money into a graphics card, as most games are GPU-limited. This is not something that will change with new DirectX 11 games.

This has to be the 1st time i commend a SBM build but the $500 SMB this month is preety much what i would slap up for bang for buck gaming rig but i would make use of combos, discounts and special promos of course hehe

System Builder Marathon, December 2010: $500 PC
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/build-a-pc-overcloc...
December 25, 2010 9:45:59 AM