Sign in with
Your question

Pre-Buying Questions on Building (first time)

Last response: in Systems
December 25, 2010 10:28:03 AM

Hi everyone, reading this forum quiet regularly, i've been "persuaded" to 1) build my next pc for the first time and 2) wait for sandy bridge proccesors.
Now Since i've never really done any building before what so ever, i'm excited but also worried which is why i want to get prepared, i've got a few questions i want to ask.

1)Is it a good idea to buy off 1 of these new sandy bridge proccesors straight away or wait a few weeks for reviews and more information, as i have delayed my christmas present and i'm quiet an impatient person, i would probbably try to get all parts asap but like all new things, some stuff could go wrong and since this is my first time bulding, i don't want problems.

2) Ram - how much ram do you think I should get -> i'm a average gamer but also i do tend to open a lot of stuff at a time (IE,firefox,program etc) and will probbably be using certain adobe programs even if not much. I was thinking of 6gb should be a nice balance?

3) Windows 7 -> Home version is the one i need for a basic user like me right?

4) While assembling the pc, I'm kind of worried of these static shocks and i don't quiet understand how it all happens. I'm probbably getting these static wrist bands or w/e their called but how exactly do they work, are they 100% proof and can you only use the hand that has the wrist band on or both hands?

5) While putting the first few bits on the motherboard (CPU/cooler etc) where do you leave the motherboard, i've heard it needs to be on a grounded metal (side of case?) but have also seen pictures/videos of them just being left on the floor?