$650 to finish Franken-build, need help

geekstrada

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2009
I have been hobbling along on my current PC for about 5 years now and have upgraded as much as I can without finally replacing my Mobo and CPU. I have $650 to spend, a little less than half of which will come from TigerDirect gift cards ($275). I also prefer to spend my total budget there since it is tax free for me and there is 9.75% sales tax where I live. Also I hope this build will last me ~5 years with upgrades down the road so would like to future proof it as much as possible (Yeah I know that is like asking for a Toyota Corolla to go up in value, but a guy can dream, right?)

All help is appreciated!

The things I need to replace are:
Case
Mobo
CPU

I am leaning towards a 6 core AMD processor, but am flexible. I do want the mobo to be able to handle crossfire for 2 MSI HD 5770 Hawks in x16, e.g. not nerfed down to x8.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: This week

Budget Range: $650 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Programming, Surfing the internet, Watching/encoding movies

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, video card, memory, PSU, CD/DVD drive, HDD

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: TigerDirect

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: None, looking for advice

Overclocking: Yes

Crossfire: Yes

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200

Additional Comments: I prefer no bling... too old for it.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Currently Owned Parts:
1 x MSI R5770 HAWK Radeon HD 5770 Video Card - 1GB GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0, CrossFireX Ready, DVI, Display Port, HDMI
(Upgrading to 2 in the future)