Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Computer shutting off by itself

Last response: in CPUs
March 19, 2011 9:29:43 PM

Hi guys, this is my first time posting but I've been looking at this site for awhile so I'll try to give everything you need in this first post.

Case- CoolerMaster HAF 922
Motherboard- ASUS sabertooth 55i
CPU- i5-750 not over clocked
CPU fan- Corsair A70
Video card- Geforce 275 GTX
PSU- Corsair CMPSU-750TX

This is my problem. It all started 1-3 weeks ago. I was playing a game calling corporation inc on my browser and my computer shuts off. So I turn it back on and try to play the game again and the same thing happened. So I turn it on once more and it turns off by itself after the desktop finished loading.

So my next step was to look up my problem. I saw that the major problem of this was heat control so I purchased a new CPU fan. That did the trick! But little did I know that it only worked to keep idle temps down. Whenever I play a game the computer turns off by itself.

So then I downloaded prime95 and core temp to check my temps. The computer turns its self off after it passes 62C, this was from just running the CPU torture test so RAM is not the issue here. I have not changed any of the defaults of the computer.

I'm not sure what I can do to fix this problem. I tried reapplying thermal paste in different ways but the problem persists. I tried changing the way the fans blow by changing the position of the CPU heatsink/fan but it still overheats.

I further looked up my problem and downloaded a program called speed fan which monitors the GPU temp, CPU temp, System temp and AUX temps. When I run the torture test on prime95 the CPU temp and the system temp are the same so I know the GPU isn't faulty nor is the PSU faulty.

Another thing I looked at was the BIOS temp. It stayed around 40C while the motherboard temp was at 27C.