Sign in with
Your question

Gaming computer for around $500

Last response: in Systems
December 26, 2010 6:08:17 PM

So i am a first time builder and was going to originally build a PC for around a grand. However i really don't want to wait that long to save up that much money. So i am looking to spend around $500 and maybe upgrade later if need be. I just want to get a viable desktop as soon as i can.

The only game i play right now is Starcraft2. I plan on playing Diablo 3 when it comes out and Final Fantasy 14 if it ever gets fixed. I know SC2 is not very demanding as far as specs go, not sure on D3 and i know FF14 is very demanding. I would love to be able to run Starcraft 2 on Ultra settings. ( Not sure if that is feasible ) But it's a goal.

I am a very big eye candy person, i want my visuals to look the absolute best they can for the money i am spending. From what i have been reading i think i am set on getting a Radeon 5770 card. That is unless you guys have a better solution, i heard they are pretty good and not too terribly expensive.

I have a LED-LCD Samsung monitor that i just bought the other week that supports 1920x1200( i think that's the max) So i will need everything expect mouse,keyboard and monitor.

Also, the only research i have done was on the Intel CPU's. Are i3's and i5's good to get the job done while staying in budget? I typically only have looked around at Newegg and they are the only site i have ever used. However i am open to any suggestions you guys might have as well

More about : gaming computer 500

December 26, 2010 7:48:15 PM

Your goal of playing fluidly on unreleased games at 1920x1080 for $500 is admirable and frugal, but, you will be hard pressed to meet it, IMO....; the OS alone is $120.
The i5 and a P55 socket 1156 mainboard would be best in this budget, and, perhaps a pair of 2 GB DDR3 sticks to start.... (I'd avoid the i3)

FInd a 400-600 GB hard drive on sale for $39 if need be...