NEW I7 RIG under 1500. NEED OPINIONS. NOT SOLVED

Noxtreme

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2010
OK so maybe its not a monster but its still going to be a sic new rig.

so here is what I've got
CASE = Lancool PC-K62 - Mid tower
MOBO = ASUS Rampage III Formula
PSU = Kingwin Mach 1 Power ABT-1000MA1S (1000W)
CPU = Intel Core i7 950 3.06GHz
CPU COOLER = Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H50
RAM = Mushkin Redline Frostbyte 998805 (1 triple 6 gig)
Video Card GPU = MSI N460GTX Cyclone 1GD5/OC 1GB

Hard drives an optical will be pulled from my scrap pile or from my other rigs (I'm a computer tech among other things so i got plenty of this stuff). I'm considering a solid state boot drive but it just doesn't really seem to be cost effective.

This entire rig is right at 1350 when buying everything off amazon.

SO here is why I am posting. I have a little extra money I can spend on this if it would really be worth it.
I game a little but my current rig can't really handle most new games. With this new rig I plan on gaming more. I am also an animator and I do a lot with 3D, video, and photoshop. This is actually the primary function for this machine. SO in your humble opinions would I be better off getting another GTX460 and running SLI or doubling ram up to 12gb or dropping the gtx 460 and going with a quadro?
My thought is to get more ram.

PLEASE COMMENT, SUGGEST, AND STAND IN AWW lol.

Approximate Purchase Date: the next 2 weeks to a month

Budget Range: 1500 max trying to keep it a low as possible but maximize performance

System Usage from Most to Least Important: 3D animation/modeling/fx, video editing, image editing, want to game sometimes.

Parts Not Required: optical drives, hard drives

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon or New Egg.

Country of Origin: USA, Cali

Parts Preferences: intel I7

Overclocking: Yes when needed

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: does not matter

Additional Comments: quiet is good, has to be upgradeable,

Solution