Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Seeking a feedback on this build

Last response: in Systems
December 27, 2010 5:06:12 PM

I've never built PC myself before but have been using them for 20 years and replaced all components except CPU and motherboard, so feel pretty comfortable about the process.

What PC will be used for:

1) Software development - Visual Studio 2008/2010, SQL Server 2008, etc

2) Browsing, email

3) Possibly light photo processing.

Not interested in gaming/SLI or extreme overclocking. I have a preference for quiet system and willing to pay more for the better components.

This is the build I came up with (open for suggestions) :
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

Intel Core i7-875K Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Unlocked Desktop Processor BX80605I7875K

Why this CPU: didn't feel that I need anything in 1366 socket and in 1156 this seems to be the best

ZALMAN CNPS9900 NT 120mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler

Why this cooler: there were no posts that it is difficult to install

ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Why this motherboard: it has all modern connectivity options (USB 3, SATA 6 GB/S, e-SATA and 1394). I am concerned with a lot of one start reviews but it seems all motherboards have them.

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL

Why this memory: because someone reported it working with motherboard I've chosen.

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Why this power supply: 5 stars average review, quiet

LIAN LI PC-7B plus II Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case