I5 2500k average temps?

rmangini

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2011
I'm running an i5 2500k, asus p8p67 le motherboard, stock cooler and getting around 66C temps. This is my first PC build so I'm really just curious if this is normal or if I should consider getting a better cooler. If so, how much of a decrease in temp should I see? I've noticed a few threads with ppl not getting temps over 40C range which kinda makes me scared....anyways, like i said this is my first build and any advice would be much appreciated.

prodigy152

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2011
My 2500k is about 40C idle, goes up to MAYBE 50C in Bad Company 2 with full settings on. This is with an H50 Corsair kit. 60 something seems a bit high. You using the stock fan/heatsink?

prodigy152

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2011
Disregard last question, I fail at reading. Also, BIOS isn't the best place to check temps, it seems to inflate them there. Download HWMonitor or Realtemp to check, they do a more accurate job it seems.

I'm guessing that your temps are @ idle - You need to check under load!!
I've seen several threads where the user is seeing 60C in BIOS and 40 ->50 in windows 7 @ idle.
In bios the system is @ idle with less of a workload, but for 100% of time. In windows, @Idle, the work load is higher BUT windows will shut cores down for part of the time - This is simular to PWM which will decrease the AVg power consumption and therefore lower temps after the operating system is loaded..

More important is the temps when under load. For this download and install CPUID HWMonitor. Also down load Prime95. Run HWMonitor and monitor temps (primarily the for indivual core temps) then run Prime95 and monitor the Max temps that you get. Recommend 70C or less, preferably the less. You only need to run for about 15 minutes to check temps, but for stability, 1 to 4 hours minimum (many run for 8 Hours to insure stability.