Reseating CPU/Heatsink causing 65+ Temps ! Help !

cryptonx

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2005
Hi,

I was recently having a no post issue with my Setup

Phenom X4 955 BE @ Stock ( 3.2 Ghz )
ga-ma770t-usb3
2x2 GB EliteTeam 1333 DDR3 Rams
4850HD

While I was trying to resolve that issue, I tried re-seating the stock amd Heatsink
While removing it ... the PROCESSOR came out stuck to it ! with the lever down !

I was SHOCKED and THOUGHT i ruined my Processor ! I the grease was almost like CEMENT !
And I couldn't remove it !

I even made things worse and tried to re-attach the processor with the heatsink on top of it ! which was painful because I can hardly see where the processor was going ...

Anyways after doing so the problem turned out to be a malfunctioning OCZ PSU .. I got a CoolerMaster 500W instead and installed, I have post and all go and the processor was thankfully detected correctly

While windows was loading i heard a very strange beep/alarm low noise from the PC
I restarted and went into the BIOS screen
to find out that the CPU is running @ 58 C ! with the fan running @ 3000 RPM and Cool'n'Quite on !

the warning/alarm was set to go off at 70 (which means it did go off )

I closed it again went into Windows to try and download AMD OverDrive or similar application
but Windows 7 was acting up in slow-motion and as if the mouse pointer is skipping frames ! then the alarm went off again !

I immediately shut down the PC and posting this from an old notebook, Have i damaged the Processor or Do I need a new heatsink / grease ?

Am really terrified ! :cry: :eek:

Solution
Wow. That was painful even to read. I'd be crapping uncontrollably if my 965 was literally ripped out of the socket... :ouch:

As long as it still runs, you didn't damage your processor to any noticeable extent. They're really either a "works" or "doesn't work" sort of deal... I've never really seen a processor that "only kinda works now"...