Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Upgrade hp pavilion to htpc

Last response: in Systems
December 30, 2010 4:44:31 PM

Hi-
I'm a total newb when it comes to hardware and upgrading. Most I've ever done was add memory to my notebook but am ready to give it a shot.

Not my main computer so looking to just make a minimal investment if its worth it-- I have an HP a530n Pavilion hooked up to an LCD that does 720p. It has an Athlon 64 3200+ and an nvidia geforce fx5200 (128mb). Memory is 512 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM). Don't know how relevant it is but Motherboard is Asus K8N8X-LA PES (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN, IEEE-1394).

I can play video on it but its not smooth- nearly everything over the internet in boxee for example stutters. I can stream video over my network but it stutters too- tho not as much as boxee. Haven't used it much but netflix seems to play pretty well. I don't need blueray or anything great.

Don't know if I can get away with just increasing the memory or overclocking or if I need a new graphics card or CPU. Open to any suggestions and would appreciate specifics as far as parts that will work with this system.

Thanks!

More about : upgrade pavilion htpc

Best solution

December 30, 2010 5:16:32 PM

the biggest thing that will help is a better video card and more ram. I had an HP a320n 2.01 ghz for years (seriously it was 6-7 years old making it a dinosaur in computer age) and could do a lot with it's 2 gigs of ram and a 1 gig video card. The issue you run into is that there just aren't that many agp cards out there. I would check out crucial for some cheap ram upgrades (download their tool or look up the computer by model to see what you max out at). Agp is much slower and less efficient than the newer pci-express cards and there just aren't as many out there.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&safe=activ...