Sign in with
Your question

HP dx6120 upgrade

Last response: in CPUs
March 24, 2011 4:37:21 PM

Hi guys. I have a desktop right now but it's a bit outdated. I want to upgrade the processor but I don't know which processor to get and if it's compatible with my motherboard. Anyway,

1) I have a HP dx6120 mt
2) Its motherboard is Hewlett-Packard 09CCh
3) My current processor is Intel Pentium 4 519K (Package: Socket 775 LGA)

I was wondering if you can help me find the best possible processor to upgrade to and if it can handle processors like (core 2 duos, dual cores, or quad cores). Thanks guys and I'm hoping for some answers soon! :) Do i just replace the processor and I'm done? Sorry it's my first time dealing with this kind of stuff.

I found this site with a list of Core2Duos with LGA 775. Which of these processors can i use?
http://www.cpusolutions.com/store/pc/viewCategories.asp...

More about : dx6120 upgrade

March 25, 2011 1:39:13 PM

TTT. I really need some answer guys :( 
a b à CPUs
March 25, 2011 2:31:30 PM

most mechanics dont recommend you upgrade a factory set pc.Hp is also factory setting most of its pcs so that it can prevent people from damaging the products they sell.Considering they have a warranty they will try their best not to let you have any possible chances of upgrading.

That way they save money from repairing your computer.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 25, 2011 2:41:34 PM

But here are your available upgrades and type of socket:
Socket type: S1
Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:
AMD Turion 64 X2 TL series - TL-64 (2.2 GHz) Max
a c 158 à CPUs
a c 292 V Motherboard
March 25, 2011 2:56:50 PM

Hi and welcome to Tom's forum.

Contact to HP or try to find the reference of your rig in the HP's web page, most OEM manufactures won't give you the option to upgrade the CPU.
March 25, 2011 8:40:00 PM