Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Please help me choose an ASUS P8Z68

Last response: in Motherboards
December 1, 2011 1:28:17 AM

Hello and thanks for reading.

After much research and taking my current motherboard offerings knowledge from none to some, I've decided that I want an ASUS P8Z68 mobo (P67 may also be an option). But there are so many, at a variety of price points, that I'm having trouble telling what you get with which.

Here's what I've got and am looking to do:
CPU: i5-2500K w/Hyper 212+ cooler
RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600
GPU: Gigabyte GTX460 OC edition 1GB
Solid State Drive: Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 120 GB
HDs: 2x Western Digital Caviar Blue (1TB and 250GB)

I'm an amateur at overclocking, so I want to take advantage of ASUS UEFI Bios and auto-OC'ing features. I'll be perfectly content with a stable system and an average-modest overclock.

I might eventually go SLI with my current card or even Crossfire with ATi cards, but it's much more likely I'll go with a better single-card solution, so two PCIe @8x would be nice, but not essential.

I don't use a ton of USB components, so two USB 3.0 with a bunch of 2.0s is probably fine.

I expect that I'll want the SATA 6 for the solid state drive, but I'm not sure my other two HDs can take advantage of it. And, while it'd be nice to have both of my WD Caviar drives hooked up, the single 1TB is really all I'll need, especially with the solid state drive as a primary.

Not sure Z68 will mean much to me over P67. I'll be putting Win7 and my most demanding games on the solid state drive. Whether this will allow me to make any use of the Z68's SSD switching is a mystery to me (since I'll already have the OS on the solid state drive, will it allow me to put a dedicated cache partition on as well...is that sensible?).

That said, Z68s don't seem to cost any more than comparable P67s, though I'm not sure on that.

Finally, I do have an audio card, so I'd like an ATX mobo (vs. mini-ATX) with a PCI slot or two.