Coavinses

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2011
Cliche title dealt with and what not. I'm trying to build myself a computer after my current one fried itself out on me. I'll be using it for some gaming and basic computer stuff i.e. nothing too demanding and my budget is about £700. I'm quite new to all of this and therefore please do bear with me. So far from doing some research and asking around I've managed to come up with this.

CPU - Intel Core i5 760 2.8GHz (Lynnfield) (Socket LGA1156)

I'm quite honestly at a loss regarding this. Should I wait for the new ones to come out and buy one of those or should I just get an i5 now?

Mobo - Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3R Intel P55 Express 1156

I think this is a pretty choice. If anyone has a cheaper alternetive I would be more than happy to change it.

GPU - Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express

This seems to be a somewhat reliable brand and I've been recommended 460s quite often. Since I have no plans to actually get SLI or anything should I go for a slightly better card to begin with or should I just stick with the 460?

PSU - Corsair TX CMPSU-650TXUK 650W Power Supply

I have absolutely no idea whether this is any good or not. I've been told never to skimp on the PSU. The nvidia site reccomended at least 450W for a 460 but I'd like the PSU to be viable if I decide to upgrade the GPU sometime in the future so this seems like a good choice.

Memory - Corsair Memory XMS3 Classic 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz CAS 9 Dual Channel

Case - Coolermaster Storm Scout Black Mid Tower Computer Case

HDD - Samsung 1Tb Spinpoint F3 Hard Drive

BD/DVD RW - Samsung 1Tb Spinpoint F3 Hard Drive

Does all of this actually work together? Will it actually last for a couple of years before I need to replace anything?

I also need to get a moniter, OS, keyboard, mouse and speakers, so spending more than £700 on the tower isn't that viable. Any tips/changes would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Coavinses

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2011