ATI 9800 XT 256mb better than HIS 4670HD agp 1G DDR3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnnybee1

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2010
Hi guys,

I have a question for you. I read on many forums that the HIS 4670 HD is pretty much useless with a single core cpu but, is it possible to have worst performances with that card than my old 9800XT??

I mean, I use to play on L4D2 and CSS. I had no lag with my old card and ran about 45-60fps on those games. The fact is, I wanted to try some other new games and give a second breathe to my computer. I also purchase this card because I am a 3D animator and though that it was better for 3D rendering.

Now with my new card, I get about 25-45 fps max, and sometime it drops to 10. I can't play with recent game and other old game like flatout lags with my new card. I didn't try yet on 3D software but it sounds very creepy.

My system:

mb: Asus P4C-800 E deluxe fsb 800mgz
cpu: single core 3.2ghz HT
Ram: 4X512mb OCZ dual PC3200
psu: 420W Thermaltake
GC: HIS 4670 HD 1GB DDR3 AGP 8X
CCC: 10.9 set to Optimal Performance

I forgot to mention that I formated my pc before installing the new card and the new drivers, so it's not a driver issue imo.

So... Someone have an idea why I get worst performances with my new card even if with my old card I was set to max Optimal Quality?? Is it normal that a older card runs better with old cpu than a new one with old cpu?

Thanks

Jonathan

Solution
Probably a good idea to return it if you can. Save your money and build a whole new rig, AGP cards are way overpriced and you will always be limited by your processor.

Johnnybee1

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2010
Hi,

That's my point, I forgot to mention it, sorry but, I run the game on lower settings than usual! only the resolution has increased by default to 1680x1050! with my new flat screen LCD LG but I decreased it to 1280x800, and sometime, above depending of the game!