Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Worth an Upgrade?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 4, 2010 12:15:23 PM

Alright, I'm having a bit of a dilemma. I'm on a budget and realize that I'm going to have to upgrade eventually, but I'm trying to put it off for a while if possible. It's mainly used for gaming as well as some Photoshop work.

Current specs are as follows:
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
nVidia GeForce 8800GTS (640mb)
Q6600 running at stock (2.4)
4x1GB Corsair DDR2 800
Win 7 Home Premium, 64bit
2x23" monitors @ 1680x1050

I'm considering a new graphics card, but am wondering what I should get, or if it's even worth it. I have no brand loyalties, and would like to spend under $150. The thing is that I don't want to invest the money in it if the performance gains aren't going to squeze that much more life out of it. I have no opposition to Overclocking although I have no experience in doing it.

The biggest issue is that the p35 is only PCIe 1.0 and all the new cards are at least 2.0. I realize they're backwards compatible, but am worried about a bottleneck at the PCI-e slot.

Also, as a side note is that this PC will probably become a home theatre PC once I finally get a new one, so if that needs to be factored in I just thought I'd add that.

Any point in spending the money, or should I just put it in the full system upgrade pot? Reccomendations?

More about : worth upgrade

a b U Graphics card
November 4, 2010 12:26:21 PM

I would recommend a complete system upgrade after January.
Score

Best solution

a c 376 U Graphics card
November 4, 2010 12:51:11 PM

The PCIE port isn't an issue so don't worry about that. Overclocking your processor and adding a competent card for your resolution will make that a viable gaming system for a while to come. I'd recommend putting the processor up to 3.3ghz or so(even the stock cooler should be ok with that) and getting something like a GTX 460 768mb which should be very good for your resolution