Sign in with
Your question
Closed

So Here's the Situation So Far.

Last response: in Systems
January 5, 2011 2:48:11 AM

Today, I got 2 Geforce 8800 Ultras, a TX750W PSU, a MSI NF980-G65 motherboard, and a new case in the mail. I installed all the parts to the specifications and checked multiple times to make sure I have everything connected. I booted it up, everything seems to be working properly, the fans are all running, the LEDs are on, so I know the PSU is working fine. Then after the POST screen, the screen goes black for the most part and the only text is "Error loading OS". I read more in the instructions and it says to access the BIOS and boot from the disc drive, in order to run the disc that came with the new motherboard. I do so, set it to boot from the DVD drive first, then stick the disc in and hit reset. It boots, only to go to the same black screen after the POST that says "Error loading OS".

This is my first time upgrading a system, but I already have Windows 7 on one of the harddrives that I transferred from my old case to the new one, so I skipped the step about putting the OS installation disc in. Not that I have one anyways, this system came with W7 already on it and no extra copies as far as I remember. Even if I DID have any extra copies, I couldn't install it if it's already on the HDD, could I? I'm confused as to why it isn't detecting the operating system (or motherboard disc) correctly. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please reply as I am looking forward to using my new parts, thank you!
FlapJax

More about : situation

a c 194 V Motherboard
January 5, 2011 3:04:41 AM

There is no upgrade when you install a new motherboard. You have to do a fresh install of Windows. You will either have to find the disk or buy a copy.

Best solution

January 5, 2011 3:15:36 AM