I installed the OS... now what?

qgel86

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011
Hi all!
First of all I am very new to building and i used these forums extensively to do so, so thank you!
I build my new system and was able to successfully install Windows 7 64bit last night. However, I do not know the next steps involved in getting my PC ready for normal use. I know that I need to install drivers, malware software, etc... but am not sure about the order in which to do it (I may also be missing something). After installing the new OS, what are the next steps I need to take?
Thanks!
-Q

evilavatar

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
Sqrl,
I like to make sure I have anti virus on the computer before I start on any ohter software. AVG and Avast have great free personal use anti virus software that are well worth the time. I hav eused both and am slightly more aprtial to avast, but only slightly.

banthracis

Distinguished
Actually, I'd do a overnight memtest tonight.

Lot's of times people will use RAM with bad sectors and not notice anything, but as these accumulate over months system will become unstable. Saves headaches down the road to find these bad sectors while still in return period.

As sqrl mentioned, drivers and then updates next. Grabbing an antivirus during that time is also a good idea. I also like to install threatfire for it's behavior based detection.

evilavatar

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
banthracis,

I generally wait til I load the mainstays to do a memory test. In doing so can also see if the ram is going to effect the system when I am using it for what I built it for. If the test comes back poor I'll rma them, but i have had sticks with bad sectors I got so cheap I just kept them as back ups for other builts becuase I could at least do basic net browsing while I wait and cheap ram is cheap ram. Sometimes the RMA shipping isn't worth the return price.

qgel86

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011
Ok, thanks for your help!

So to sum up your responses: