Sign in with
Your question

Need help purchasing new router and adapter

Last response: in Wireless Networking
September 12, 2010 8:02:50 AM

At the moment I am using a 2wire wireless router and some sort of cheap wireless adapter. The router is setup across my house and my adapter is setup on the computer I generally use.

I get a very weak signal and internet will cut on and off at times. I play a lot of online games. It is very annoying to be disconnected constantly. I am looking to upgrade these components. From what I can tell, I need something that has a higher range or just something to get a better signal.

I have contacted Linksys about this and they said that my adapter is not even supported in Windows 7, which at the time of purchase, I had no idea that was the case. So, it appears I need to atleast replace the adapter.

I really have no idea what to look for. I can build a computer and everything, but when it comes to networking, I am a complete newbie. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
September 12, 2010 6:27:45 PM

pinnacle2009 said:
At the moment I am using a 2wire wireless router and some sort of cheap wireless adapter. The router is setup across my house and my adapter is setup on the computer I generally use.

I get a very weak signal and internet will cut on and off at times. I play a lot of online games. It is very annoying to be disconnected constantly. I am looking to upgrade these components. From what I can tell, I need something that has a higher range or just something to get a better signal.

You could try cabling to the router for a day or two to check that the ISP isn't causing the interruptions. After that, get yourself a new Wireless N adapter that says Windows 7 on the packet and future proof yourself for a year or so. Wireless is always going to be slower than wired so if you're a gamer, you might want to consider ethernet.