Video card works, monitor works...but no picture? O_o

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trilly

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2010
Okay, so I built my desktop rig from a partial kit four years ago, and so far the only thing I've had to replace on it is the videocard (a geforce 6800 ultra) and the CPU fan on the motherboard, a ASUS A8N-SLI with SLI switched off. (Something I lament, but there's no way in hell I could afford two graphics cards.) I've got two sticks of DDR with 1 gig of memory between them, running a 500-watt power supply. Granted that the system is dated, it ran pretty well, despite the huge graphics load it had to handle (I'm a graphic artist, and I love me some Bioshock and Half-Life 2.) Ah, and the OS I'm running is XP Pro.

About six months ago, I got an error booting up, but I don't remember what it was exactly, along with a beep error code. The pc ran fine after that, but then all of a sudden when I went to boot it up, I got no video. I tested my monitor, and it works fine. I switched out the videocard with a card I knew would work, and still didn't get a picture. I tried testing to see if one of the sticks of memory went bad by booting with one stick in at a time, and still no picture.
So now, every time I turn on the pc, it will give me a beep error code (One long beep, and about 4 short beeps) but then I'll hear my HD make it's little "I'm awake and loading windows now, k? lulz :D" sound, but no video.

I'm thinking that either:

A: Both memory sticks are bad, and I need new DDR

or

B: Underpants-stealing gnomes?

Please help me. I fear for my underpants. :(

Solution
1sti would try putting your gfx card in the second pci-e slot if the cmos restart doesn't work, could be the pci-e slot

2nd reset cmos

3rd try different psu

if none of these work bread box it with the different psu and if that doesn't work i sugggest a hammer to vent your fustration on your new paperweight

mkelton19

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2010