Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Ati GPU rendering 3dsmax ?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 9, 2010 3:47:07 AM

hello

I am new to these forums, but i looked around and did not find much on what i am looking for, anyway here it goes.

I am a computer animation student and have 2 ati 5870's. I have just seen how much faster CUDA is than CPU rendering and i am totally blown away by what i have seen(20x faster!?), having spent £660 on these 2 ATI cards has made me a very sad panda indeed but i am wondering if there is something like CUDA for ATI ? I read something called CAL but i dont know how to get 3ds max to use my GPU's to render rather than my CPU ?

If anyone could help i will be very very happy as 20hour + render times for a 1920x1080 10s animation is not fun lol
November 9, 2010 4:24:26 AM

i could be wrong... but i dont think cuda helps with the speed of rendering times in 3ds. I know that it helps speed transcoding and having your viewports run at a faster frame rate.. i just dont think it helps much with the actual batch render process. Cuda on the other hand appears to help significantly with After effects.
November 9, 2010 5:08:55 AM

Dudeguy87 said:
i could be wrong... but i dont think cuda helps with the speed of rendering times in 3ds. I know that it helps speed transcoding and having your viewports run at a faster frame rate.. i just dont think it helps much with the actual batch render process. Cuda on the other hand appears to help significantly with After effects.

No there is a renderer called iray for 3dsmax that uses CUDA support to specifically render way faster, but its not support by ATI cards afaik and just wondered if there was an ATI renderer like iray.
Related resources
November 9, 2010 4:09:12 PM