Sign in with
Your question

Crossfire mothboard fit in a dell studio xps 8100?

Last response: in Motherboards
December 9, 2011 6:21:55 PM

Hello,
Im a bit of a novice really. Im looking to upgrade my XPS 8100 and was wondering if a crossfire motherboard and an extra graphics card would fit in? Ive currently got a HD5770 which I would like too crossfire with a 6770 but obviously I would need a motherboard that would support crossfire and im unsure if it would all fit in???
a b V Motherboard
December 9, 2011 7:21:14 PM

I need to know if your motherboard form factor is ATX or BTX.

There seems to be like 4 different motherboard types used in the Studio XPS 8100 and I am not sure which one you have, so if you just list that I can look up the form factor of the motherboard myself.

Also, I wanted to say that I don't think you will be in for a good crossfiring experience if you do what you are intending. The best results are obtained when the cards are the same model and even the same manufacturer.

Having an entire generational gap between the two cards is inviting trouble.

Also, it may not even be better than the one 6770 alone.

The way crossfire works is that each card takes turns drawing one frame. That means the fastest one can't go any faster than the slowest one. It will never take 2 turns when the slowest has only taken one, even if you crossfire a 6990 with a 5770.

It doesn't really matter when one card is ready to render or not, only that it is either that card's turn or not. Practically speaking, the cards would work mostly the same if you just had 2x 5770 except that 5770 + 6770 would be harder to configure than 2x 5770 is.

I think for the same price as a 6770 you could get a 5830 and it would likely perform better than the 6770 + 5770 CFd and be about 100x easier to configure.

Then you could just sell the 5770 and recover some of the cost of it, it should still have some value on ebay.