Rethinking my upgrade plans

HankB99

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2010
At present my desktop is a five year old system based on an AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+. It's served well but as S/W tends to grow to utilize modern H/W, this system is becoming dated and feels a bit sluggish. (In the mean time, I tend to use a Thinkpad T500 w/ Core 2 Duo T9400 a lot more.) But I like a big screen and I'd like to bring the desktop up to modern standards. I studied recommended builds and priced parts at Newegg and was thinking that an AMD based system would be a nice upgrade. For a metric, I used the PassMark scores posted at http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php as a comparison among CPUs. The upgrade was to be an AMD Phenom II 555, ASRock 770 Extreme3 and 8GB of DDR3 1600 RAM. I chose that mobo because it had both SATA III and USB 3.0 which I wanted for future proofing. I'm not looking for gaming performance so I didn't choose a mobo that would support high end graphics. Working the numbers (PassMark score) Here is what I'm looking at:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 1045 (present desktop)
T500 w/Core 2 Duo T9400 1759 (present laptop)
Phenom II X2 555 1956 (processor/MB/RAM => $275 US.)

That provides a modest bump in processing HP. Actually... When I bring the laptop into the comparison, it doesn't look like much at all. But every time I look at an Intel based upgrade, I'm turned off by the price. Maybe I should look deeper. A low end Intel processor would be a Core I3 540 with a PassMark of 2820. It's pricier than the AMD part but scores 44% higher. Moreover, I don't see a 2 core AMD CPU with equivalent processing power. I know I could add more cores, but for single threaded work loads, that provides little benefit. Choosing a M/B that supports SATA III and USB 3 gets me the ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA. Again, a bit more expensive than the AMD choice. Rounding out the package with 8GB of DDR3 1600 RAM gets me:

Core I3 540 2820 (processor/MB/RAM => $355 US.)