Any Network Engineers/Adminstrator's Here?

hemipepsis5p

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2010
Hi there I've been seriously considering Network Engineering as a career. Currently I'm in the Army as Infantry, I get out in 1.5 years. By the time I get out I want to already have my CCNA. After that I want join the National Guard as 25B (network guy) while going to college. I have read that 25B training is about CCENT level stuff, not CCNA. I would do it mainly for the work experience. I feel that if I have my CCNA during college I can get practical work experience easier and hit the ground running, is that the case? My questions are:

1. I'm a smart dude but I have NO experience in networking, can I go straight for my CCNA? Or should I go for my CCENT first?
2. My long term goal is to be a Network Engineer Manager/Network Administrator Manager, what degree should I get to open that door? (Computer Engineering, Computer Science?)
3. If I graduate college with a CCNA + Bachelors in CompEng/CompSci and have 3 years of part time work experience (from the Guard/Internships) could I expect to land a job starting at 60k? (I'm willing to move).

Any responses are appreciated, thanks.

riser

Illustrious
$60k with limited experince? No. You'll be looking more at $35k-$40k in most States with standard cost of living.

If you want to be a manager you would really want to get a business admin degree. You can move up in a small company quicker and make more money than targeting a larger company.

Your CCNA will always be good but that's just the beginner's level. You'll want to focus your Cisco experience into a certain area. Voice is a great place to go since VoIP is really hitting hard and saving companies a lot of money.

The CCNA takes about 6 months of studying to really pass. But that's entry level Cisco stuff and a lot of people have that cert. A lot of people don't have the cert that can easily pass the CCNA too.