Is my mobo, cpu and psu fried, connected wrong cable, help

davidom2513

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2011
Hi,
This is my first build, although I have done bits of building in college. I connected everything up and turned on the computer. After a few seconds there was a burning smell, and nothing displaying on the screen. I quickly plugged it out.

I know what I done wrong now, I had connected a 4-pin floppy power cable into a 3-pin fan connector on the mobo for the case fan. I thought the cable was for a 4-pin fan. The cable I connected has 2 black wires, a red wire and a yellow wire. I left the yellow wire unconnected. I believe this is what caused the burning. I now know that I need a molex to 3-pin adaptor to connect my case fan.

I wanted to see if the computer was ok after this happened so I took out the floppy cable from the mobo and just connected the case fan to the psu, with no connection to the mobo. I turned on the computer again, it will not boot, no beep signal, nothing on screen.

So my question is what components are fried? It seems that the mobo is dead. I tested the psu, and the -5v parameter does not seem to work, but I don't trust the PSU tester that i used as it is a cheap one. Could it have damaged any more of my components? e.g CPU, RAM, hard drive etc. What components do you think could be damaged?

I think my motherboard is dead and possibly the psu, and I will RMA these back to the retailer. But I dont know if my cpu is fried or not. Has anybody had experience of this happening before, and if so what components do you think are affected.

Grateful for any help or suggestions. Thanks!

Mobo: Asus P7H55-M
CPU: Core i3 540
HD: Samsung 1TB F3
Case: CIT Black Micro ATX 450W
RAM: ValueRam 4GB DDR3

Solution