Gateway FX Labtop, Can play games for about 5 Min then extreme lag

mejason

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
Hello everyone,

Recently, i have been having some really concerning issues with my Labtop.

Gatway FX (not sure which model) quad core 2.0ghz, Nvidia gtx 260m, 4 gigs of ram.
-I have owned it for about a year and a half

All of a sudden, i can play games for about 5-10 min without any issues, however within that time limit my FPS will drop to 5 or lower FPS and remain there.

Originally anticipating that it was male-ware or drivers, i reinstalled all the drivers with no luck. I reformatted my computer today completely restoring to factory. I updated my drivers after.

The problem persists! Incredibly frustrating, i do use an antec cooling fan under the labtop, however i have never air dusted the vents or taken the cover off to remove dust.

-I feel like it has to be either a heat issue (as it only arises after gaming for a short time) or a hardware issue (which i have no experience with), I have eliminated software and male-ware with the reformat. I do have a three year warranty with gateway so thats good, but i would like to solve the problem without sending it halfway around the world.

Any suggestions would be awesome!

Thanks so much!

Solution

It seems that your GPU/CPU are throttling themselves down to prevent damage. Download that software in the above link. Play your game as you would normally with that software running in the background. Check the GPU and CPU temperature before, during and after the problem.

Levity

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011

It seems that your GPU/CPU are throttling themselves down to prevent damage. Download that software in the above link. Play your game as you would normally with that software running in the background. Check the GPU and CPU temperature before, during and after the problem.

Solution

mejason

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
Alright just did a temp check whilst in the 2 FPS area

GPU = 108Celcius
Temp 1 = 78C
Temp 2= 78C