1333 Overclocked to 1600, Is It Safe?

waen

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2011
Hello All, and thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

First, about me, I am a novice at all this overclocking and Intel XMP stuff. I recently purchased an Alienware Aurora-R3 from Dell. OK, after you stop laughing, remember I said I was a novice. I just wanted an upgrade to my old XPS so I could play the latest and upcoming new games. I have an accout with Dell, and am lazy, so I just clicked and chose what I thought was some good options for the new machine. One of the options I chose was 16 GB's of 1600 MHz RAM (4 GB x 4). here's the real funny part . . . they sent me a machine with 1333 instead of 1600, BUT, they overclocked it to 1600. I did not request them to do it, I suppose they did it to attempt to foll my dumbass into thinking it was 1600, I really don't know why they did it. I do know from doing a little google research that they have been having trouble with some Kingston 1600 Mhz RAM. They don't even offer 1600 as an option now on their web site for the Aurora. What I would like to know is if what they have my stuff set at is safe or not? I have had the machine for a little over a week now and have not had any issues, no BSOD's or freezes, so it seems stable. However, I'd like this RAM to last for longer than a few weeks. I would like to know if it is going to burn out quickly. Here's my specs . . .

Intel i7 2600K 3.4 GHz Turbo Boost to 4.1 GHz
Alienware Motherboard Model 046MHW
16GB Dual Channel DDR3 1333 MHz (Currently OC to 1600 from the factory)(4 GB x 4)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590 3 GB DDR5
Seagate Barracuda XT (ST32000641AS) 2 TB 7200 RP