Sign in with
Your question

I need HALP

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
January 12, 2011 11:04:49 PM

This is my first build EVAR. I am not new to PCs or the interwebs, but I am totally new to building a machine.

I have $1200 bucks to spend on a rig that I will be able to ooze over graphics while playing SC2, BFBC2, COD, Etc...

I've been doing some research and I'm thoroughly confused. :-( :cry: 

I know that these forums are not necessarily for this type of arrangement, but honestly, I just want a custom built rig that I know will work (without my meddling in it's construction, I suck at it!).. a pre-built offer from a site would be great.. if I knew what was even looking at/reading.

I'm not asking for a custom one built just for me- but are there any links/builds articles on here that you guys recommend?

THANK YOU ALL! VERY INFORMATIVE!!!

More about : halp

Anonymous
January 12, 2011 11:08:51 PM

I want to stress that i've looked at everything, and it's overwhelming.

I know that I want incredible graphics, over clocking, etc

i like black and blue neon stuff..
January 12, 2011 11:30:58 PM

Ok, dont really have a lot of time right now but I'll throw something together...

i5 2500k motherboard
ASUS/MSI/Gigabyte motherboard (1155 socket)
Samsung Spinpoint f3 1tb
750w power supply (for upgrades. 80+ certified, antec, seasonic, xfx, corsair, etc.)
noctua nhd14 cpu cooler for overclocking (not 100% sure its compatible with 1155)
any $20 disk drive
windows 7 64 bit
any case you like. I like the HAF 912/922 because it has good cooling. I also like the NZXT lexa S.
for neon stuff, look at some cold cathodes.
For graphics, if your not looking to upgrade later, get two 460's. Otherwise, get a 6970/570/580 and put another in later.
Not sure what all that adds up to, but it should be less then $1200.