Sign in with
Your question

Highest Resolution setting is 1280 x 1024 ???

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 14, 2010 12:34:47 AM

Hey Tom's Hardware forum I have monitor resolution problems, i have the newest graphics card driver and monitor drivers installed or so I think... i have downloaded the newest drivers from both sights for my driver and monitor. The problem is the native resolution for my monitor is 1680x1050 60Hz, but the only widescreen one i get on with windows 7 is 1280x1050. And even that looks a little grainy and not clear as it should be. I've been ignoring the problem for 2 years but its real annoying. It used to read as a Generic PnP monitor untill i updated monitor driver but nao it just reads as a syncmaster but that doesnt change the resolution option. Also When i try to force the display in Nvidia control panel it says test failed and I can't force my computer to read the proper resolution. I have always considered myself above the average joe with computer problems, building my own computer with my grandfather was milestone that made me respect computers. But this problem is beyond my comprehension and to much of my dismay I am actually considering selling all my computer parts and buying a hassle free Macintosh. Sure macs have problems but not as many as windows does. I know I haven't contributed to this sight and you may overlook my problem because i am new, but I plead to you more experienced users to help this noob out.

My specs are

operating system - windows 7 64bit

processor - intel core 2 duo

Ram - 8gigs

graphics card - Nvidia Geforce 210 - (Updated Nvidia Gefore 460) <--- Still same problem

monitor - SyncMaster 2253BW

If i have not applied any info that anyone would need to help me I will reply quickly as I can depending on my access to the internet as i will be checking this regularly.

PS. sorry if i didn't post in the right thread just tell me
November 14, 2010 1:08:28 AM