First time Build Problems

orkie

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010
Hey guys, Today my parts arrived and i tried to build my pc, but after a few unsure cabling and so on, i decided to try and switch on the pc without monitor to see what would happen, My CPU fan started working, Certain LEDS on the motherboard were on (red) but case fans or LEDS did not start at all. I got a repeated beep of 1 long and 2 short ones and could not switch off the pc except by the Main switch.

My parts:
i5 2500k
Asus P8P67 Intel P67 Express Socket 1155 Motherboard
90-MIBE40-G0EAY0KZ - Asus P8P67, Intel P67 Express, S 1155, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), DDR3 2200(OC), SATA 6Gb/s, SATA RAID, ATX
XFX Radeon 6950
Crosair 4gb Ram (2x2gb)
650w Antec Modular Truepower PSU
Xclio a380 colour
Samsung 1tb Spinpoint F3
Samsung DVD Writer, SH-S223C/BEBE, SATA, Black, OEM

I have most probbably done some of the cabling wrong but it is my first time and i'm really confused with certain stuff (mostly cables that were already from my case) I've looked at the manual and on most situations it doesn't help and also it didn't have a beep code troubleshooting for some reason. I'm hoping if it is possible the beeps pattern to show which cabling i have got wrong etc.

Thanks for any help

orkie

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010
Edit: Turns out I hadn't plugged in Ram properly, I manage to do so and added a monitor. It boots up fine but The case fans still don't work, Anyone got a guide on where to plug Cables from the xclio a380 colour?

joelmartinez

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2010
I hate the whole learn from your failures thing though cause I hate failing, but it's true the problems will make you a better builder than someone who had a zero problem build.

orkie

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010
I went to sleep after that and continued today and yeah mistakes do teach you more then success but even though all the parts are working, i've still must have done something wrong: