Need help understanding speeds of modern cpus vs. older ones...

ShaolinD

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2011
Hi all,

I feel really odd asking this as I am pretty tech savvy (or I used to be) and I used to build my own systems all the time, but that was way back when Pentium 4s were the norm. Anyway, I seem to have missed the boat on the whole multi core cpu train. Probably because I run Ubuntu as my main OS and it runs just fine on pentium 4's...

I am really clueless when it comes to the clock speeds of newer cpus when compared with older ones.

For instance I have a P4 3.6ghz tower running my audio recording software.(i'm a musician) I get pretty good cpu usage levels with the Pentium 4, but I am going to be possibly be buying a laptop and am wondering what the performance will be like with say an I3 or an I5 or an I7 compared to the P4 3.6GHZ. I really have no idea.. I mean will an even an I3 beat a P4 3.6?

My other project is my home built arcade machine. I want to upgrade the PC inside which I think is a P4 3.2... I think most of the software running on that uses only single cores, so would a modern multi core cpu still be faster than a P4

I get the feeling I am really outdated using Pentium 4's so I guess almost anything would be an improvement, but you tell me...

When I look at newer processors and see clock speeds that are lower than the P4s I use, I have trouble making the comparison.

Solution
^That's a great article to show the best CPUs for the money, but it doesn't really give a comparison to the Pentium 4.