Need Help Proving New Work Computers Aren't Powerful Enough

Daffodilio

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2011
Background Info:
I am a fairly new Systems Admin to a company of about 500 people. I was brought into an existing project to replace some old computers. We replaced Pentium 3 and Pentium D computers with new FoxConn nettops that only had a 1.5 GHz dual core Atom processor and 2 GB of RAM. It wasn't until we were well into the project that I finally got all of the details and noticed that the computers were pretty slow. Now that we have replaced about 70 computers, the users are complaining like crazy about various performance issues. I told my boss that I don't think the new computers are good enough to be a person's primary work computer and we need to investigate this. Now it's my job to formally research and test these to give my opinion on whether they are ok to keep, upgrade, or if they need to be replaced. This decision could cost us $100,000 so I'm pretty nervous. I'm not very strong with hardware issues, my specialty is software.

Question:
What suggestions do you have for testing? My suspicions are that one or all of these things aren't good enough: 1) Processor 2) Video 3) RAM
Is there software that I could run that could generate a report that would give me conclusive results? Is there any real world testing that I can do to prove what the true problem is, and if it can be fixed/upgraded? I'll include a link to the machine itself, as well as a link to the video decoder that we installed in them. Thanks in advance for your help!!!

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/product/Barebones/NT330i/index.html#

http://www.broadcom.com/products/Consumer-Electronics/Netbook-and-Nettop-Solutions/BCM70012

Solution