Sign in with
Your question

My pc is overheating and dont know why?

Last response: in Components
April 12, 2011 9:45:32 AM

Hi all, my pc is overheating all the time then freezes randomly and then i have to restart. when i take my side panels of it gets better, but why would i want to take it off all the time, i have a coolermaster cm690 case so airflow is suppose to be good i should hope plz help

Kind regards
Lee

More about : overheating dont

April 12, 2011 10:39:41 AM

Download some software for temps
Coretemp-cpu
Gpu-z -gpu
HWMonitor - system

Your psu looks suspect to me since i've never heard of it.
April 12, 2011 12:09:25 PM

And what is the arrangement of fans, i.e. what is pushing and what is pulling?
Related resources
April 12, 2011 12:09:44 PM

r3m_wolvy said:
Hi all, my pc is overheating all the time then freezes randomly and then i have to restart. when i take my side panels of it gets better, but why would i want to take it off all the time, i have a coolermaster cm690 case so airflow is suppose to be good i should hope plz help

Kind regards
Lee

I had a similar problem and it turned out that the fan on the processor stock cooler randomly stopped spinning. I don't know why this happened, but when I flicked it with my finger it spun back up. If this is the issue, you could turn off the fan speed control in BIOS, although this will lead to more noise (not acceptable to me as I need it to be as silent as possible). I went for an aftermarket cooler with a fan connected to a molex. If this is the issue, I'd get rid of the stock fan ASAP anyway. Just in case.
April 12, 2011 12:42:18 PM

Could the psu be the problem? ill check the cpu fan when i get home, using my laptop atm at work. Do you think i should invest in a aftermarket cpu cooler ? is it worthit?

I have one fan blowing away behind my cpu, 1 fan at the top blowing in one fan blowing from the front of the box in ant another blowing out at the bask. suffiecient enough?
April 12, 2011 1:18:00 PM