Sign in with
Your question

2500k too hot???

Last response: in CPUs
April 13, 2011 2:11:45 PM

I'm trying to determine if my Noctua NH-D14 is seated correctly. The rest of the components are P8P67 Pro, i5 2500k and Antec 900. At idle CoreTemp reads most cores at 29c and running Orthos with the 2500k with turboboost at 3.7ghz hottest core reaches 60c. This is my first build using the NH-D14 and I don't want to begin to OC until I determine if those temps are where they should be.

Thanks,
Jason

More about : 2500k hot

a b à CPUs
April 13, 2011 3:23:42 PM

You shouldn't be seeing 60ºC at stock speed with a D14, unless your ambient temp is very high.
m
l
April 13, 2011 10:25:47 PM

Do you know what temp I should be looking for stock? I reseated this evening and am now at low to mid 50's running small ffts. Should it still be lower? I forgot to mention this is with Arctic Silver 5 just applied so not nearly passed the cure time. Ambient temp is around 23-25c.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
April 13, 2011 11:47:22 PM

I have the same cooler and board i2500k and is doing same thing. All setting are at stock. It ran 33c at full load over clock to 4.2 ghz on the old one (old board subject to recall).I found it to be the p8967. South bridge also get to 55c at norm load and the marvel sat a 6g ports work when they want. And must I say I know more then there customer service.but check you seating and that you didn't over past it if not most likely your board. :( 
m
l
April 14, 2011 1:18:04 AM

I would appreciate some other opinions seeing as I doubt I should be at 33c during full load OC'd to 4.2 unless I was outside in alaska.
m
l
April 14, 2011 2:11:49 AM

I don't have the same heat sink so it's hard for me to comment, however I do have the Corsair H70 - based on benchmarks the H70 is slightly inferior however they are pretty close.