Sign in with
Your question

Don't know which Sound Card to get

Last response: in Components
April 14, 2011 4:55:30 AM

I recently got an MSI X58 Pro-E Motherboard with a built-in sound card. When I try to play some of my games, the sound doesn't work in cinematic cutscenes. I heard that if I buy a sound card, it'd fix that. The problem is that I don't know what's compatible with my motherboard (I just started learning about computers). I'm looking for any sound card that's at least decent and in the price range of around $50.

More about : sound card

April 14, 2011 7:26:10 AM

post your system configure first.....
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
April 14, 2011 12:07:28 PM

Quote:
What will make the difference? Maybe if your on windows xp then the soundcard would have done something not on windows 7. Days of soundcard buying for ddl is over doesn't work that way anymore.

1: I doubt the OP is using digital output in this case, so this is invalid.
2: Your information is WRONG, as has been explained to you many times before, by myself and others.

To the OP: its unlikely the onboard sound itself is the cause of sound dropping out, its FAR more likely to be an issue with teh game in question. Make sure your audio drivers [almost certainly a Realtek HD chip] are up to date.
m
l
April 14, 2011 6:56:51 PM

My apologies first of all, like I said I'm new to computers.

Motherboard: MSI X58 Pro-E / Onboard sound card is : Realtek ALC889

the game I was playing was Final Fantasy XIV, when they play ingame cinematics the character voices wont go off though the background sound would (Like the footsteps of the characters, etc.).

I'm not sure if buying a sound card would work or DL'ing a driver would, I was just told before that getting a sound card would fix it.

If it's a software problem, how would I fix it? I was looking for drivers but I couldn't find any.
m
l
April 15, 2011 3:29:01 AM