Sign in with
Your question

P8p67 pro vga led hangup -newbuild problem

Last response: in Systems
January 19, 2011 1:28:53 PM

hiya:-) this is my first attempt at a build it yourself and am having the following problem(posted on the memory forum first)

my build is below, my memory is f3-12800cl9d-4GBXL, built my comp last night, got it running, BIOS showed everything hunky dory, got windows installed, then after a bit the VGA LED on the mobo lit up and it wont POST now. called asus and tried removing battery to clear cmos, no luck, still the VGA light comes on and no boot. asus said since my RAM wasnt on the approved list that that was the problem, and to RMA or exchange at newegg 4 the right stuff...

any guesses or help is appreciated....

thnx

guess I am looking for any advice or input to resolve this....

also when I remove ALL the ram, the computer gives the beep, beep code for missing ram, but when I remove the vid card it just has the VGA LED lit on the board, no error message....

thanks in advance...

More about : p8p67 pro vga led hangup newbuild problem

a b B Homebuilt system
January 19, 2011 10:44:05 PM

try one stick and flash the BIOS to 1003. If you did that already try 1054 i think it is. The beta BIOS. if you have BIOS version 0503 that's probably your problem.
m
l
January 21, 2011 12:07:00 AM

that is what the guy from asus tech support said, reset bios(by removing batt for a bit) and leave one stick of RAM in....no good, still hangs on VGA LED...tried the other stick of ram by itself...same, hangs on VGA LED....

I returned the vid card and the ram, will get "official" QVL ram as the asus guy said(he blamed the unofficial ram), and just in case I RMA'd the vid card for a new one(same kind) ugh...this sux...it was workin so good too....

if I do get it up and runnig I will redo the BIOS update as recommended...thanks:-)
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
January 22, 2011 8:42:25 AM